Story Points and Development

Experience Point Awards

Most Masterminds of the Super system will have played another White Wolf game before, and will therefore know how the Story Points are given out. Some people may not have a sourcebook containing the different categories available, though, so here are the eight standard experience point categories for this game, with two additional (optional) points:

These points are to be given out at the end of every game session.

  • Automatic: all characters that participated receive one Experience point automatically.
  • Learning Curve: to be eligible for this point, the player must be able to identify something significant that her character learned during the game session. Masterminds may wish to require that this piece of information be especially relevant to the character, or that each player come up with a different piece of data.
  • Roleplaying: to reward exceptional roleplaying only. When a player gives an excellent performance, award one of these points. Raise your standards as the campaign goes on. This should be one of the most difficult points to earn.
  • Concept or Internal Consistency Point: this is another roleplaying point in disguise, but it is much easier to qualify for. If the character behaved in a fashion that clove closely to her concept, or if she stuck her Nature and Demeanor especially well, then this point should be awarded.
  • Heroism: Traditionally one of the more difficult points to get. The character must have risked his life or suffered a serious setback in order to save another character in order to qualify for this point.
  • Style [optional]: It is awarded when a character succeeds at a certain task and, moreover, manages to look good doing it. Not to be awarded if the action was out of character for the person or persons involved.

 At the end of a story, the characters may also qualify for one or more of these Story Points.

  • Success: This point does not require a complete and total success. If the goals of the party or of an individual character were at least partially achieved, then the character is eligible for a success point.
  • Danger: If the character was seriously threatened during the course of the story, then he deserves a danger point - whether he came through it with all of his limbs intact or not.
  • Wits and Resourcefulness: Award this point when the player came up with an especially innovative plan that was instrumental in allowing the party to succeed or survive.
  • Teamwork [optional]: Whenever two or more characters 'team up' in some way to achieve a goal, showing exceptional melding abilities, a teamwork point can be awarded. It should be awarded for a new effort (not something that has been done several times) that used the unique capabilities of each participant.

Note that optional Story Points can either be used to replace one of the existing categories (Style to replace Learning or Concept point, Teamwork to replace Danger point) or, at the Mastermind's option, to be included in addition to regular categories. Note that this can "speed up" character advancement significantly.

Experience Point Costs 

Attributes: 4 x current
Abilities: 3 (new) or 2 x current
Actual Power Level: 4 x current
Power Potential: Cannot be improved
Power Charge: 4 x current
New Power: 10/10/15 for the first Rank.
Primary Powers: 6 x current
Secondary Powers: 8 x current
Tertiary Powers: Cannot be improved; if a fixed rank, 10 x current
Primary Stunts: 3
Secondary Stunts: 5
Tertiary Stunts: 7
Willpower: 2 x current
Humanity: 4 x current and Mastermind approval.
Permanent Taint: 4 x current and Mastermind approval.
Temporary Taint: 1 point per dot.

Thus, for a Rank one Power, the super pays 10 Experience. For a Rank two Power in the super’s Primary category, he pays 16 Experience. For a Rank three Power in the super’s Secondary category, he pays (10 + 8 + 16) or 34 Experience. ONLY ONE RANK can be purchased at a time unless the power is of fixed Rank (like Invisibility).

An Example

Siege goes on an adventure with Iceman, and the two of them manage to defeat Graviton. The miserly Mastermind awards him only six Story Points for his heroic effort.

Keith thought about saving the points, but decided that Seth would probably improve a lot at the start of his career. He examined his options for spending the points.

He had enough experience to increase his Manipulation by one, but that would use most of his points, and besides which, the Mastermind ruled that he hadn't used his Manipulation enough during the adventure to justify the increase. Raising his Intelligence would cost eight points, which he didn't have, so Keith passed over Attributes.

Keith looked longingly at his Powers, but to increase his Force Absorption, a Physical Power, to Rank four would cost 6 x current, or 18 points. The Energy Absorption Power, in his secondary category, would cost 8 x current, or 24 points. Quite out of his league. Besides, as the Mastermind reminded him, Seth's Actual Power Level would have to increase to four before he could increase those Powers anyway, and that would cost 4 x current, or twelve points.

Keith briefly considered improving his Willpower, but he couldn't really justify it. It would have cost 12 points anyway.

On the other hand, Keith could improve Siege's Power Charge (2 x current = 6 points) but that would take all of his points, and for a less than palpable result.

Seth had started developing a Power Stunt, but he hadn't used it five times yet, and so couldn't spend the three points to buy it.

Keith therefore decides to spend the experience on buying a new Ability, Survival, for three points. He spends two of the remaining points to improve his Stealth to Rank two, and saves the remaining point for later.